View grantees in the Image Library

Countries prioritized by the International Collaborative Research Grant

The Foundation encourages collaborations involving at least one principal investigator who is a citizen of, and is working and residing in, a country where anthropology is underrepresented and where there are limited resources to develop the discipline.

The following is a list of high-income countries. A collaboration where one of the co-applicants is NOT from, or residing in, one of these countries is given priority under the ICRG eligibility guidlines.

Andorra Antigua and Barbuda Aruba
Australia Austria Bahamas
Bahrain Barbados Belgium
Bermuda Brunei Darussalam Canada
Cayman Islands Channel Islands Cyprus
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
Equatorial Guinea Faeroe Islands Finland
France French Polynesia Germany
Greece Greenland Guam
Hong Kong Hungary Iceland
Ireland Isle of Man Israel*
Italy Japan Korea, Rep.
Kuwait Liechtenstein Luxembourg
Macao Malta Monaco
Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia
New Zealand Northern Mariana Islands Norway
Oman Portugal Puerto Rico
Qatar San Marino Saudi Arabia
Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia
Spain Sweden Switzerland
Trinidad and Tobago United Arab Emirates United Kingdom
United States Virgin Islands  

* not including Gaza and the West Bank.

If you have any questions regarding your eligibility please contact the International Programs administrators (

Return to the ICRG eligibility guidelines